Signing Day for Pirate Athletes

Signing Day for Pirate Athletes

by Hailey Lotz

Pensacola State College Athletics had an exciting day on Wednesday as they celebrated their student-athletes that have signed to continue their playing career with four-year colleges.

At least one player from each team was represented in a brief presentation to honor the signees. Among the student-athletes were mostly sophomores who are hanging up their Pirate jersey for a new mascot, but PSC was proud to announce two freshman players that have committed to four-year schools for next year as well.

Athletic Director, Bill Hamilton began with an opening greeting and thanked the press that were present and continued by introducing the Head Coach from each team.

Women's Basketball Head Coach Clenita "Penny" Belford named her signees, 5 total, followed by Men's Basketball Head Coach Pete Pena who had one confirmed player to announce. Bill Hamilton announced the Volleyball Freshman signee in the absence of new Head Coach Jennifer Belarmino, and Baseball Head Coach Bryan Lewallyn gave a report on all of his players that have officially signed as well as those that have verbally committed. Finally, Softball Head Coach Lyndsey Angus was brought to the podium to discuss her teams continued success into the post-season and to announce her confirmed signees. 

All teams have students that have not yet decided where they will play, but some PSC players will make their final decisions in the coming days and join their teammates in the number of students moving on to play at the four-year level. Here is the current list of Pensacola State College student-athlete signees and where they have signed.


Women's Basketball

Aminat Jubril - Southeastern Louisiana University, Sophomore

Naterria Luster - Elizabeth City State University, Sophomore

Kaloni Pryear - Lincoln University (MO), Sophomore

Ahyiona Vason - University of North Carolina- Wilmington, Sophomore

Mylashia Yancey - Grambling State University, Sophomore


Men's Basketball

Willesley Butler – University of Alabama-Birmingham (UAB), Sophomore



Bentley Odom - Spring Hill College - Freshman



Michael "Bucky" McGlamry – Middle Georgia State College, Sophomore

Malique Foreman – Reinhart University, Sophomore

Aaron Ginn – University of Southern Mississippi, Sophomore

Evan Floyd – St. Louis University, Sophomore


Baseball's Verbal Commitments

Jared Hatch – University of West Florida, Sophomore

Wilfredo Alvarez – Florida Atlantic University, Sophomore

Richard Sorrenti – University of South Alabama, Sophomore

Alex Tyson – Valdosta State University, Sophomore



Lia Johnson – Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Sophomore

Brittney Rayfield - Flagler College, Sophomore

Haley Willis - Jacksonville University, Freshman

Caitlyn Yockey - Warner University, Sophomore